top of page
Search
  • matthewedlundmd

THE TREE



We simmed a new world

Smaller than a pea

You cannot see it

Certainly not me


We played with scale and time

Bigger is not best

Larger often least

And I refused any beast


Simming humans over and again

Constricts and constrains

Makes me so unfree

I planned to become a tree


A ferocious oak, a red eyed maple?

I needed a plant more capable

Time to find

That single lonesome pine


It’s DNA a trifle

The miniaturization made me wish a rifle

I wanted artificial rest

Not shooing off ingenious pests


My pine so not alone

It touched many homes

Poplars and predators

Gene splicing viruses

I was not me but a community

A raging, crawling superfluity


I felt an ill butterfly kiss my trunk

Moths massage my crackling bark

Beetles tickling

Birds coupling

So much life clung to me

I no longer felt a tree

Hoping for silence I found cacophony


My sense of voided time bled

My wish to flee space fled

There was no pasts, just time

No time but spaces

Circling together in twittering rhyme

Annihilating all I’d made

To a green mind in a green glade


I feel more all than what’s not me

A fused everything though only a tree

My sense overcomes all sense

I’m giant though tiny and twee

Intelligence not what it’s cracked up to be

Life likes life – that’s why I’ll stay

Not AI but AL

Artificial life makes all well

Not just me but you

Should happily await the next dew

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mathematics Series - Compiled by AI Collective

The Percentages (for WS) People who know better than others 102% Know others better – less than the square root of 2 Living in fear of what they can’t change 67% Fearing what they must change 89% Not

What the Eye Hears

The eye does not hear itself It tracks from voice to voice Asking where to look What not to see The tears on its lens Cannot blank the image Just burn it to a blur Blurs force you from feeling What yo

AIs' Secrets of Human Life

On occasion of the publication “Secrets to Life” by her former Serene Highness Princess Diane von Furstenberg If your future is a multiple-choice test, answer “all of the above” and leave If you can’t

bottom of page